Top Colleges in Asheville – The University of North Carolina at Asheville | Asheville CBD Store

1 University Heights, Asheville, NC 28804, United States

North Carolina Asheville University (UNC Asheville or UNCA) is a public liberal arts university in Asheville, North Carolina. UNC Asheville is the only approved liberal arts college in the North Carolina University system. UNC Asheville is a member of the Liberal Arts Council. 

  • Brief History

UNC Asheville was established in 1927 as Buncombe County Junior College, part of the public school system of Buncombe County. In 1930, the school combined with the Asheville City College (founded in 1928) to create the Biltmore Junior College. In 1934, the college was renamed Biltmore College and placed under the oversight of the board of trustees. In 1936, both the Asheville-Biltmore College changed its name, and authority was transferred to the Asheville City Schools. Overlook, or “Seely’s Castle” the home of Fred Loring Seely, who designed the Grove Park Inn, described as “one of Asheville’s most pretentious private residences” became part of Asheville-Biltmore College in 1949. The building, no longer part of the college, was listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 1980. 

In 1961, Asheville-Biltmore College relocated to the current UNC Asheville campus in northern Asheville. In 1963 he became a state-sponsored four-year student, and in 1966 he was awarded his first bachelor’s degree. Its first residence hall was completed in 1967. It became part of the Consolidated University of North Carolina in 1969, and since 1972 it has been named the University of North Carolina System. It is one of the three baccalaureate colleges within the program and has been listed as a Liberal Arts I institution since 1992.

  • The Administration

The university is headed by Chancellor Nancy J. Cable, Acting Provost Karin Peterson and a variety of advisory committees. The university works under the direction and regulation of the Board of Trustees of the University of North Carolina in Asheville. Being part of the 17-campus university system of the University of North Carolina, UNC Asheville is also under the administration of President Margaret Spellings and the UNC Board of Governors, which is supported by the UNC Faculty Assembly.

  • The Student Government Association

The Student Government Association (SGA) of UNC Asheville consists of two branches, an 18-seat Student Senate and an executive branch composed of the President, the Vice-President and the Cabinet. The representation in the Senate of the Students is divided into four sections, with three additional seats each being granted to residential and college students. The authority of the SGA is derived from the Chancellor and the Board of Governors.

You will find this school in the beautiful Asheville, North Carolina, along with these other must-see places of interest: 

And of course, after visiting this amazing school, stop by Mary Jane’s CBD Dispensary – Asheville CBD Store on Hendersonville Road in Asheville!

Skip to content